TBC Macros and Extensions

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

TBC macros - documentation, printout etc

• 1.  TBC macros - documentation, printout etc

Posted 07-30-2020 05:30

Hello,

Im quite new to TBC macros and im not very used to working with MS visual Studio.

Can i try my macros without launching TBC? It takes a while to restart tbc after every edit

Is there a documentation for the tbc macro commands?

For example if i want to access and print out the string withing a textbox i use the following command:

MessageBox.Show(self.testText.Text) where the name of the textbox is set to "testText".

But i dont know how to access the value from(for example) AngularEdit. For this reason a documetntation would be helpful.

Also, where can i find a terminal in MS visual studio? For example if i do a print("hello world"). Where can i se the printout?

• 2.  Re: TBC macros - documentation, printout etc

Posted 07-31-2020 11:05

Hi witold,

Glad to hear you're trying out TBC macro commands (or TMLs for short).

Question 1: Restart needed on each edit?

If your TML uses a plain .py file (Python file), you don't have to restart TBC for your edits to take effect.  Every time you run a .py TML, the TBC command engine will check to see if the .py file has changed, and if it has, it will re-load the .py file.

If you are compiling your .py file into a .pydll file, or you are changing a .dll file (compiled .NET assembly) that your .py file uses, you'll have to restart TBC to pick up the changes to your .pydll or .dll file.

Question 2: TBC platform documentation?

Unfortunately, the TBC dev team has not made formal, searchable documentation available for the TBC Platform.  This is a challenge for even experienced former TBC developers.

If you have questions about using a particular TBC control, like the AngularEdit, you can use the Object Browser in Visual Studio to look at the interface (list of properties and methods) available for that control.