Share Data with Public Links
The Share Data feature allows users to share files from a project with internal and external users.
- To share project data, click on the icon on the Data Tab when selecting a file.
- Once the Share Data icon is selected, the Shared Data prompt will appear with the fields needed to be filled out.
Files can be shared within the members of the project, signed in users with the link and any users who is having link ( public links ). Select Members of the project, if you want to share within the members of the same project. Use Signed in users with the link in case user is not part of the project but he has Trimble Connect account. Any users with the link or Public links can be used when users isn't part of Trimble Connect.
Users can be notified by entering email address, name and groups. With Members of the project, group names along with user name and email address will be auto suggested just like assignee field. Using Signed in users with the link, only emails are allowed to enter and it will be shared with that users without being the member of the project. For Any users with the link, emails are allowed for further sharing.
Using note, you can add a message for the user along with shared files. Notified users will get the message in the email along with files link.
- Fetch Links
It will create a public link that can be shared with external users. After clicking the fetch link button, you will be provided with copy link option for further sharing.
Additional options for Signed in users with the link and Any users with the link
- Link expires on
Time limit can be applied on the shared data with users using this feature. Users can only view/download the shared data within the selected time limit.
- Allow access to
View only and view & download permission can be further allowed using this feature.
Version restriction can be applied using Show latest version.
After sharing the files with users, the shared files can be edited and tracked from Activity page. The share activity can be filtered through the Share type filter. The filters that can be applied are created, revoked and updated. The revoke option is available if the user chooses to revoke access to the shared file before the link expires.