Managing Projects: Leave or Delete Projects

Document created by Laura Anne Cook on Sep 24, 2020Last modified by Laura Anne Cook on Sep 24, 2020
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Click the icon to skip to the section you are interested in.

Trimble Connect for Browser

Leave a Project

If you no longer wish to be a part of a project, you can leave the project. Once you leave a project, you will not be able to rejoin unless you are invited back into the project by an active project member. 

If you are the only Project Admin in the project, you cannot leave until you assign the Project Admin role to another project member.

Changing Project Ownership Before you Leave

If a project was created using your license, leaving the project does not remove your license from the project. If ownership of the project needs to be transferred to another account, please do so before you leave the project. 

Any Project Admin can change the project’s Subscription/Billing Account (found on the Project Details page). 

To Leave a Project:

  1. Log into Trimble Connect for Web.
  2. Click on the Overflow Menu of the project
  3. Select Leave Project

  4. A dialog will appear to confirm your choice.

  5. After you select Leave, you will be removed from the project and it will be removed from your projects listing. 

Alternative option

  1. Log into Trimble Connect for Web.
  2. Go into the project
  3. Go to Settings › Project Details
  4. Click Leave Project (Located at the bottom of the page)

  5. A dialog will appear to confirm your choice. 
  6. After you select Leave, you will be removed from the project and taken back to the Projects page

Important Note for Personal License Users

Leaving a project does not affect the number of allotted projects you can join (5 total).

Delete Project

Only a Project Admin in the project is allowed to delete a project forever. This delete action is executed through 2-step confirmation with a clear note that the project will not be restored once deleted. 

We do not recommend deleting a project that others may have been collaborating with you on as this any data inside the project will be lost forever. If you do wish to delete, please back up the project's data before deleting the project as this cannot be undone, users will not be able to restore the project after completing this process and the project will no longer be available for all members.

If you need to delete a project:

  1. Log into Trimble Connect for Web.
  2. Go into the project
  3. Go to Settings › Project Details
  4. Click Delete Project (Located at the bottom of the page). 
  5. A dialog will appear to confirm your choice.

  6. After you select ‘Delete project forever’, you will be taken back to the Projects page and the project will be deleted.

Restore Project

Accidents happen. If you accidentally deleted a project, please contact connect-support@trimble.com for restoration of the project. Currently there is no way for a user to restore the deleted project.

Trimble Connect for Windows

Leave a Project

If you no longer wish to be a part of a project, you can leave the project. This action must be done on the Browser application. 

Delete a Project

You can delete Trimble Connect projects either on your local computer, or on your local computer and the cloud. If you delete a project locally, the project is only removed from your computer. However, if you delete a project both locally and from the cloud, the project will be deleted permanently for all users.

  1. On the Trimble Connect for Windows start page, click the menu button at the lower-right corner of a project.

  2. Select Delete project.

  3. In the confirmation dialog box, select one of the following to delete the project:

    1. Delete only on my computer: the project is only deleted on your computer. If necessary, you can download the project onto your computer again.
    2. Delete project forever: the project is permanently deleted on your local computer and on the cloud.

NOTE A permanently deleted project is deleted for all users. The project cannot be restored.

Trimble Connect for Mobile

It is not possible to delete projects on the mobile application.

Attachments

    Outcomes