Saving Views in 3D

Document created by Jose Gonzalez on Dec 19, 2016Last modified by Jose Gonzalez on Mar 1, 2017
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Click the icon to skip to the section you are interested in.

 

Trimble Connect Web

Saving a View

  1. Open a model in the 3D viewer.
  2. Navigate the model and perform any additional show/hide, markups, etc...
  3. Once you have the view you want, click on "Views" in the bottom left corner.
  4. Once in the "Views" section, click on the "Create View" button to create the new view.
  5. A dialog box will appear where the details for the view can be filled out such as the name, description and team member name to be shared with.  Click "Submit" to complete the process.

Opening Views
All views can be referenced in the "Views" section from the Data page or in the 3D viewer when you have the associated model open.  

  1. While on the "Data" Tab or in the 3D viewer with the model open, click on the Views section to see all views created by the users in the project.
  2. From the "Data" tab you can filter views by date, type, groups and users on the left pane to narrow your search.

Creating a ToDo from a View
You can also save a view by creating a ToDo. This will allow you to assign a view to an individual user as a Todo.

  1. Open a model in the 3D viewer
  2. Navigate the model and perform any additional show/hide, markups, etc...
  3. Once you have the view you want click on the "More" button and select "Create ToDo"
  4. A dialog box will appear where the details for the ToDo can be filled out such as the description, priority, due date and assignee.  Click "Submit" to complete the process.

Trimble Connect Desktop
A saved view is a snapshot of a specific situation in the 3D view. Saved views keep the view representation settings that were used when the view was saved, for example, object colors, markups and camera angle in the 3D viewer. You can arrange saved views in view groups. For example, you can create a view group called MEP and move all MEP-related saved views to the view group.
Saved views are useful for displaying important details. With saved views you can

  • Modify the view and save it for later use.
  • Have multiple saved views.
  • Group saved views in view groups for easier management and viewing.
  • Add saved views to ToDos.
  • Add saved views as project thumbnail.

Saved views are available in the view list. You can dock or undock the Views list , and move it around the 3D view.

Save a view
You can save views for later use. Saved views are useful for showing important details.

  1. Modify the view as required.
    For example, you can use different representation options and add clip planes and measurements.
  2. Click the  button to save the view.
    The saved view is added to the end of the view list.

Switch to a saved view
Double-click the saved view snapshot.

Set a view as a project thumbnail
You can set a saved view as a project thumbnail. The project thumbnails are displayed in the project list on the Projects tab.

  1. Select the saved view.
  2. Right-click and select Set as project thumbnail.

Add a view to the Data tab
You can add saved views to the Data tab, in the Views pane.

  1. Select the saved view.
  2. Right-click and select Add to dashboard.

Update views
When you are working with a saved view and, for example, add markups in the model, you can update the saved view to reflect the most recent situation.

  1. Select the saved view.
  2. Right-click and select Update.

Arrange views
Drag the saved view to a desired location in the view list.
When you are dragging a saved view between two saved views, the existing views are moved apart.

 

Share a view with other project members
You can share your saved views with other project members, either with single users or with a user group.

  1. Select the saved view.
  2. Right-click and select Share.
  3. Select a project member or user group.
  4. Click Save.
    Use the Own views and Shared with me options to select whether to view your own saved views or views that have been shared with you.

Create view groups
You can arrange saved views in view groups.

  1. Select the saved views you want to group.
  2. Right-click and select Group.
    By default, the name of the view group is New Group.

    Once you have created a view group, you can drag more views to the group.
    Alternatively, you can drag a saved view on top of another saved view to create a view group.

View a view group
Double-click the view group in the view list.  The grouped views are shown as an own view list.

Ungroup a view group

  1. Select the view group.
  2. Right-click and select Ungroup.
    All saved views are relocated to the top level on the view list.

Rename views and view groups
Click the name of the view or the view group and type a new name.

 

Remove views or view groups

  1. Select the saved view or view group.
  2. Right-click and select Remove.

Make view list visible
If you close the view list, click the Views  pane to make the view list visible again.

Use keyboard shortcuts to navigate in the view list

  • Switch to the previous saved view: Ctrl+Q
  • Save the current view: Ctrl+N
  • Switch to the next saved view: Ctrl+W

 

Trimble Connect Mobile

Open the model in the 3D viewer of the mobile app.  Move the model to the desired view and touch the  View icon . Then specify the view details by entering the view details such as the name, description and assign it to a team member.

After entering  the view details, tap the  icon to save the current view. To view the added view, return to the DATA tab by tapping the Model view label, and then tap the Views tab . You will see the saved view listed in the Views tab.

 

In the Views tab, you can:

  • Tap the  icon to sort the views list by name, description or last modified.
  • Tap the  icon to sync the Views to and from Trimble Connect Web and Trimble Connect Desktop applications.
  • Delete a view or multiple views by selecting the check box(es) next to the view(s) from the views list, and then tap the  icon.
  • Create a new view group. To create a new group, follow the steps:
    1. Tap the  icon. The View Group page will open.
    2. In the View Group page, type a name in the Group Name text box.
    3. Select all views that need to part of the current group by tapping on each of them, and you can deselect a view by tapping the X icon next to that view.
    4. Tap the  icon to save the current view group.

  • Create a new ToDo by selecting the view(s). To create a new ToDo, follow the steps:
    1. Select the view(s) from the views list
    2. Tap the  icon. The Create Todo popup window will open.

    3. In the Create Todo window, you can either select New to create a new ToDo with selected views, or select Existing to add views to an existing ToDo.
    4. Add/edit description for the current ToDo, and then tap the  icon to save the current ToDo.   

Attachments

    Outcomes