Set Folder Permissions

Document created by Jonathan Watson on Dec 20, 2016Last modified by Jose Gonzalez on Jul 27, 2017
Version 6Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Trimble Connect Web

Folder Permissions

Multiple groups can work on one project in Trimble Connect. With folder permissions, visibility of folders can be restricted based on groups or individual user accounts.

Three types of permissions can be implied:

  • Full Access
  • Read Only
  • No Access

Note: Only the project administrator can change folder permissions.

 

Changing Folder Permissions

  1. To change folder permissions, select a folder from the "Data" tab and click the "More" icon in the Viewer toolbar.
  2. Select "Folder Permissions" drop down list.
  3. The first option is to set permissions for everyone, for the chosen folder.
  4. Permissions can also be set for a particular user or group. Just type the user's name or the group name, select the type of permission and click "Submit".


Root Folder Permissions

Project administrators can restrict uploading files or creating new folders directly under the root folder.

root folder permission settings

  1. Right click under the root folder of the project
  2. Select "Edit permissions"
  3. Specify folder access to groups or users by selecting "Full Access" or "Read Only Access".
    folder permissions full access read only
  4. Click "Submit" and permissions will be set to all the active folders selected.

 

Viewing Permissions

  1. Permissions can be viewed under the permissions tab when a folder is selected.

 

Restore Folder Permissions

Project administrators can restore files & folders from Activity tab and also retain original folder permissions or inherit current permissions from parent folder.

  1. Open Activity tab.
  2. Click "Restore" the deleted files & folders.
  3. Select a permissions restoration preferences.                                                                                                       restore activity permissions
  4. Click "Restore" and selected files & folders will be restored with permissions.

Attachments

    Outcomes