Project Settings

Document created by Jonathan Watson on Dec 20, 2016Last modified by Jose Gonzalez on Mar 1, 2017
Version 7Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Click the icon to skip to the section you are interested in.

Trimble Connect Web

Project settings are used by project administrators to set project wide preferences. These settings are in 4 categories, Sync settings, 3D settings, Viewer settings, and Email settings. You can access the project settings by clicking the down arrow next to the project name while in a project.

 

Sync Settings

Under sync settings there are two sections "Sync Mode" and "Exclude Files and Filters".

  • Sync Mode - These settings are used to help establish change control standards. Here are the options and how they work:
    • Allow Auto File Check Out for Sync Upload - When you sync the project this option allows you to download the file with read/write access. You can update the file locally and sync it to the server. While the sync is in progress, the files are checked out. When the sync is complete, the files are checked in. Other users can edit and update the file locally and also on the server.
    • Require Checkout for Sync Upload - When you sync the project this option allows you to download the file with read/write access. But you cannot update it on the server until you have not checked out the file. To update the file on the server you need to check out the file on the server and then update the file. After you finish working with the file,you can sync the file back to server.
    • Required Checkout for Sync Upload and Set Files that I have not Checked out as Read Only - When you sync the project this option allows you to download the file in read only mode. If you want to update the file first you need to check out the file then update the file locally and sync the project. It will update the file on the server. Other files that are not checked out will download in read only mode.
    • Sync Filters - Using sync filters you can ignore certain files types by the file extension. Some software generates temporary files, which may not be needed to upload. To ignore temporary file during sync, check the checkbox for the corresponding temporary file. Here are some of the options:

 

  • Units
    Units are used to set the standard units to be used throughout the project.
  • Viewer
    Viewer settings are used to set the standard background color to be used throughout the project in the 3D viewer.
  • Email
    Email settings are used to set standard notifications settings to be used throughout the project. You can find more information on that here - Stay up to Date using Notifications

 

Trimble Connect Desktop

 

Project Settings

You can define project level settings separately from the general settings.

  • To open the Settings dialog box, click the Settings button at the top right of the workspace.
  1. Predefined unit sets. You can define unit settings for your project by using predefined unit sets or custom sets.
  2. Settings for distance, area, volume and weight. These are used in the Objects list, in the object property pane.
  3. Unit setting for distance also determines the unit that is used when you move models. You can also set the precision of how accurately the units are displayed.
  4. Unit setting for measurement is used in measuring distances in the models.

  • Set Units for a Project
    1. Click the Settings button at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the Project Settings tab, do one of the following:
    3. Select a predefined unit set in the Unit System list.
    4. Select the units and precision as required.
    5. You can select the units separately for distance measurement and other functions, such as how detailed object information is displayed in the Objects list's property pane.
    6. Click the Close button.

  • Set Units for Measuring Distances
    1. Click the Settings button  at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the Project Settings tab, in the Measurements section, select the unit and precision as required.
    3. Click the Close button.

  • Set the Rendering of the Graphics
    1. Click the Settings button  at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the General Settings tab, select DirectX or OpenGL as a rendering option.
      By default, the DirectX technology is used for rendering.
    3. When you change the rendering of the graphics, a restart is required. The selected rendering method is taken into use after the restart.

  • Set the User Interface Controls Size
    You can show some user interface controls in the larger size. This is useful when you use Trimble Connect with a tablet.
    1. Click the Settings button  at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the General Settings tab, set the size of user interface controls as required.
      • To show user interface controls in the larger size, select Tablet.
      • To show user interface controls in the smaller size, select Normal.

  • Hide the Navigation Control Buttons
    The navigation control buttons are shown by default. You can hide the navigation control buttons if you do not need them.
    1. Click the Settings button at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the General Settings tab, clear the Show Navigation Control Buttons check box.
      When the navigation control buttons are hidden, the navigation mode that was last used is active.

  • Disable Highlighting of Objects in the 3D View
    When you move the pointer over an object in the 3D view, the object is highlighted by default. If needed, you can you can disable the object highlighting. This may also enhance the performance of your models.
    1. Click the Settings button at the top right of the workspace.
    2. On the General Settings tab, clear the Enable highlighting of objects in model check box.
      When you are using area selection, the objects belonging to the selection are highlighted even though object highlighting is disabled.

TIP When highlighting of objects is disabled, you can temporarily highlight objects by holding down the Ctrl key.

 

  • Set the Model Cache
    To speed up working, you can set up a model cache. When you download the models and the files, the data is stored to the cache. Next time you load the models or the files, they are read from the cache and therefore loaded faster.

  • Set the language of the user interface
    Select the language of the user interface from the list. When you change the language, a restart is required. The selected language is taken into use after the restart.

Attachments

    Outcomes