AnsweredAssumed Answered

Trimble SiteWorks stake out point.  How to turn off the popup menu?

Question asked by Greg Timmons on Oct 17, 2019

Hi, I'm an Surveyor for large construction company. I've used both Trimble and Topcon.  I've been using both systems for the past 5 years.

I was thinking of creating a small program that works in the background to manually press the buttons to kill the annoying popup menus that Trimble's software creates, but decided not to as Trimble SiteWorks tends to have memory leaks (Runs out of memory or crashes often) TSC7.

What annoys me the most right now is when I press and hold a point, Trimble SiteWorks creates a popup menu that has 3 options.  We are feathering 1000+ feathers per day and it's killing our production time.  Is there anyway to setup a default option so that the menu doesn't keep popping up for every single point?

@ 1000 points per day. 10 hour day. 100 points an hour.  5 seconds lost time per point = 5000 seconds = 5000 / 60 = 83.333 minutes lost due to Trimble SiteWorks popup menu for staking out points.  It takes even more time when you press the menu option of edit point or point information instead of stake point.

With Topcon, I can create a custom point list and press the next or back key to select the next point.  Not sure why Trimble did not create such a time saving method?