Trimble Business Center

 View Only

Tip #166 - New User Profile Capabilities

By Hannah Poon posted 12-13-2021 11:09

  

Hey TBC’ers! Have you checked out the Start Page in TBC v5.60? The User Profile Manager provides a single location to backup and store files on the Trimble cloud using your free Trimble Identity (TID) login. New user profile capabilities make it that much easier to back up and restore user option settings, customized ribbon layouts, and project templates so that they can all be accessed from any computer (with Internet access) on which TBC is running at any time using your TID login.


Follow the steps below to learn how to utilize the User Profile Manager.


  • On the TBC Start Page, click the User Profile button to open the User Profile Manager window. The User Profile Manager window includes three navigational tabs along its left side.


  • Select the appropriate tab and make changes as necessary.

    • User Options:

    • Back Up - Save your user options (that is, the application settings specified in the Options dialog) to your User Profile on the Trimble cloud.
    • Restore - Restore the most recently stored user options from your User Profile on the Trimble cloud. (You will need to restart TBC to apply your changes.)
    • Clear from Profile - Delete the most recently stored user options from your User Profile on the Trimble cloud.

    • Ribbon:

    • Back Up - Save your customized ribbon layout to your User Profile on the Trimble cloud.
    • Restore - Restore the most recently stored customized ribbon layout from your User Profile on the Trimble cloud. (You will need to restart TBC to apply your changes.)
    • Clear from Profile - Delete the most recently stored customized ribbon layout from your User Profile on the Trimble cloud.

    • Project Templates:

    • Local Templates - Select any locally stored template in the list and then select the appropriate action button:

      - Delete removes the template from the list. (If the template is also included in the Cloud Templates list, it is retained in that list.)
      - Save to Profile adds the template to the Cloud Templates list and retains it in the Local Templates list as well.
      - OK opens a new project using the selected template.

      Check the Default check box to specify the template to use by default when creating a new project.

    • Cloud Templates - Select any cloud-stored template in the list and then select the appropriate action button:

      - Delete removes the template from the list. If the template is also included in the Local Templates list, it is retained in that list.
      - Save to Local adds the template to the Local Templates list and retains it in the Cloud Templates list as well.
      - OK opens a new project using the selected template.


            Looking for more in-depth instructions? Press F1 at any time when using TBC to open the Trimble Business Center Help window to view step-by-step instructions, workflow strategies, and detailed descriptions related to the task you are performing. Or perform a simple search to find out more about any TBC topic.


            To download TBC v5.60, you can head to https://trimble.com/downloadTBC. To learn what’s new in our latest release, you can visit https://geospatial.trimble.com/blog/whats-new-tbc-v560.


            For additional learning content, visit our TBC Survey and Construction YouTube page:

            https://www.youtube.com/user/TBCSurvey/videos


            I hope this quick tip comes in handy in one of your upcoming Field to Finish Workflows!

            0 comments
            25 views

            Permalink