Mapping and GIS Solutions Community

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Trimble Geo7x accuracy

• 1.  Trimble Geo7x accuracy

Posted 10-07-2021 07:34
    Hello!
    I will be using the handheld Trimble Geo7x to navigate a grid I have loaded on the device.
    I was wondering what is the accuracy without internet connection? (open field)
    How can it be improved without a private VRS/RTK subscription? Is simple internet connection enough?
    How about at DGPS subscription?
    I am fairly new at this. 
    Thank you!
    Caroline

------------------------------
    Caroline Bruyere

• 2.  RE: Trimble Geo7x accuracy

Posted 10-07-2021 08:53
    Hi Caroline,

Out of the box, a Geo7x data collector can achieve a sub-meter (2.5 - 3ft horizontal) position using the free Satellite Based Augmentation System (SBAS) as a correction source. Higher precision will require options to be enabled on the Geo7x (if they are not already), plus some type of correction service. Trimble RTX for example is a correction service that can be purchased in a variety of precision levels to fit your purpose. More information on those can be found here.

Feel free to reach out to your local Trimble distributor and they can help dig into the details with you where needed.

Lane Carter

• 3.  RE: Trimble Geo7x accuracy
    Best Answer

Posted 10-09-2021 11:19
    Hi Caroline,
    I'll interject with some field experience with WAAS since up here in AK, geostationary satellite visibility is hard to come by.  Lane's estimate is quite conservative from our extensive tests.  Be happy to share WAAS only data with you, but if you do the right thing with navigation data (probably extracted from ESRI software right?), then the datum is the biggest hurdle (besides getting the antenna as high as possible).  60 cm horizontal is easily achieved.