Mapping and GIS Solutions Community

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Buying an older Trimble system

• 1.  Buying an older Trimble system

Posted 09-17-2023 16:47

Hi,

I'm a Geophysicist / Engineer who uses GPS to obtain coordinates for identified anomalies and such, where sub-meter (+/- 2-ft) accuracy is sufficient.

My 2005 GeoXH was working just fine, until it was made obsolete by last month's WRNO and Trimble's notice that they don't support this system anymore.

I'm looking for a NEWER GPS system that won't be discontinued in the next 5-10 years and am wondering what other used Trimble systems exist that I can buy, where the techical support won't be discontinued as it was for my 2005 GeoXH.  I recently tried the Geo7x and got very good accuracies, but am wondering HOW MUCH LONGER will it be supported?

Any reliable feedback as to WHICH OLDER SYSTEM to buy with a 5-10 year support lifeline is much appreciated!

Thanks,

Brett

------------------------------
    Brett Smith, PE
    Managing Principal
    ECA Geophysics
    www.ecageophysics.com

• 2.  RE: Buying an older Trimble system

Posted 09-18-2023 07:27