Trimble Business Center

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

• 1.  What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

Posted 03-10-2020 15:48

I'm pretty new at TBC and I'm trying to select all of the points in my project with a particular Feature Code (231 in this case). It's behaving in a very inconsistent manner. Using the Select Points tool under Selection Explorer, I enter 231 under Feature Code (and nothing else) and it selects six points out of roughly 100. If I go to GIS: Advanced Select, choose Data Type:Point/Data w-the following property/Feature Code/Equals/231, then I get the same six points.

However if I use Advanced Select's regular expression, Data Type:Point/Data w-the following property/Feature Code/Equals Regular Expression/^231, then I get 9 points. See attached screenshots. These points are not sequential/neighboring rows. The 'extra' points I get from using the regular expression include some but not all of the codes that are similar to 2311 or 231 10:06:44.

This is intensely frustrating. Can someone please clue me in to what is going on?

• 2.  Re: What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

Posted 03-11-2020 07:35

• 3.  Re: What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

Posted 03-11-2020 08:37

I'm also interested in this question. I see you are using numeric codes. I am using alpha codes. For example, EP is Edge Of Paving. We add numbers to define different lines, like EP1, EP2, etc. 

I want to be able to select all my EP codes by using the asterisk " EP* "  , but that doesn't work 

• 4.  Re: What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

Posted 07-30-2020 08:58

Hi Jesse, you may want to try just do Equals Regular Expression EP (no asterisk). It should return all points with EP included in the feature code.

• 5.  Re: What causes Select by Feature Code to be inconsistent?

Posted 03-12-2020 18:17