Trimble Connect Knowledge Center

Permissions Overview 

12-18-2020 11:12

Permissions Overview

Project Permissions

Permissions for project level functions is defined by the user’s role in the project. By default the creator of a project is assigned as a Project Admin. Once there are other Project Admins in the project, the creator’s role can be changed to a Project User and any admin controls will no longer be available.

Project Users Project Admins
Change project name
Change project thumbnail
Add/edit start/end dates/description
Change server location
Update Billing Account/License
Delete project
Leave project 1
Define email notification preferences 2
Change project unit settings
Change ToDo visibility
Invite other users to projects 3
Change project sync settings

Folder Permissions

Folder Permissions Segmented by Access & User Role

Here’s what people can do with folders depending on the permission level and their role within the project:

Full Access Read Only Access No Access
User Prj. Admin User Prj. Admin User Prj. Admin
Manage Permissions
View/Open Folder
Download Folder
Edit/Update/Rename
Move
Delete 
Restore
Export to Excel
Comment4

File Permissions

All files in Connect inherit their permissions from their parent folder. Setting the folder permission is the only way to apply permissions to files.

File Permissions Based On Folder Access

Full Access Read Only Access No Access
User Prj. Admin User Prj. Admin User Prj. Admin
Upload versions
View/Open 
Download
Edit/Update/Rename
Move
Delete 
Restore (after delete)
Checkin/Checkout
Add to ToDo/Release
Share Files 
Export to Excel
Comment5
Create a View 

2D & 3D View Permissions

By default Views are private and must be explicitly shared with another user in order for them to see them. Only Project Admins can see views created by others without them needing to be shared.

Here’s what people can do with Views after it’s been shared:

Author Shared with Project users Project Admins
View/Open 6
Edit Information
(Name, description, tags)
Update View
(2D or 3D content)
Delete
Share
Comment

Release Permissions

By default Releases are private and must be explicitly shared with another user in order for them to see them. Only Project Admins can see Releases created by others without them needing to be shared.

Creator Recipient Project users Project Admins
See Open Releases
Edit Open Releases 
Delete Open Releases 
Send Open Releases 
See Sent Releases
Modify Sent Releases
Delete Sent Releases
See Files Inside a Sent Release  7

ToDo Permissions

Creator Assignee(s)8 Project members9 Project Admins
View/Open
Edit 
Delete 
Reassign 
Add/Remove Attachments
Open Clash Attachments 10
Open Attached Views 11
Open Attached Project Files 12
Open Uploaded Files
Comment
Import (update ToDo) 
Export 

Team Permissions

Many of the team functionality is restricted for project users since permissions for other Connect entities (folders, property sets etc.) make use of the Connect Groups to apply and define the permissions.

Project Users Project Admins
Invite users 13
Remove users 14
View removed users
Create / Edit groups
View groups
Add/Remove users from groups 15
Change user roles
Import users
Export users

Comment Permissions

Many of the rules and permissions for comments are inherited from the object (i.e. Files, Folders, ToDos etc.) that the comment is being associated to.

Here’s what people can do with Views after it’s been shared:

Author Project users Project Admins
Update/Edit
Delete
Add/Remove attachments
View comments 16
Open attached project files 17
Open attached uploaded files
(not stored in the project)
18
Open attached views 19
Open URL attachments 20
  1. There must be at least 1 other Project Admin in a project before the current Admin can leave.
  2. If a Project Admins has enabled this setting for project users.
  3. If a Project Admins has enabled this setting for project users.
  4. Please see Comment Permissions for a further breakdown of permissions
  5. Please see Comment Permissions for a further breakdown of permissions
  6. A user’s ability to see a View is going to be dependent on their access to the parent folder where the file is located in Connect. For example, if the recipient has no access to the parent folder - then that user will not be able to open the View.
  7. A user’s ability to see a file in a Release is going to be dependent on their access to the parent folder where the file is located in Connect. For example, if the recipient has no access to the parent folder - then that user will not be able to open the file inside the Release.
  8. If a ToDo has an Implicit View associated to it (meaning it was made in the 2D or 3D Viewer ), then the visibility of the Implicit View is going to be dependent on the user’s access to the folder where the file is stored in Connect. For example, if the assignee or a project member has no access to the folder, then that user will not be able to see the Implicit View, but they will still be able to see the ToDo information (like the detail information).
  9. ToDos will be visible to all users in the project by default, but the Project Admin can change this so ToDo visibility is restricted to only the Project Administrators, ToDo creator and assignees. If the ToDo visibility is restricted for project members, users cannot perform the listed action.
  10. The assignee must have access to the file & clash set in order to view.
  11. The assignee's ability to open a view is dependent on the user’s access to the folder where the file is stored in Connect.
  12. The assignee's ability to open attached project files is going to be dependent on the user’s access to the folder where the file is stored in Connect. For example, if the assignee or a project member has no access to the folder where the attached files are stored in the project, then that user will not be able to open the attachments.
  13. If a Project Admins has enabled this setting for project users.
  14. A project user can remove themselves but not other users.
  15. There must be at least 1 other Project Admin in a project before the current Admin can leave.
  16. Assuming the user has Full Access to the parent object (file, folder, Release, ToDo or View)
  17. Assuming the user has at least Read-only Access to the folder where the file is located in Connect & assuming the user has Full Access to the parent object (file, folder, Release, ToDo or View)
  18. Assuming the user has Full Access to the parent object (file, folder, Release, ToDo or View)
  19. Assuming the user has at least Read-only Access to the folder where the file is located in Connect & assuming the user has Full Access to the parent object (file, folder, Release, ToDo or View)
  20. Assuming the user has Full Access to the parent object (file, folder, Release, ToDo or View)

Statistics
0 Favorited
51 Views
0 Files
0 Shares
0 Downloads

Related Entries and Links

No Related Resource entered.